Skip to content

It Always Seems Impossible Until It’s Done

December 6, 2013

nelson mandela

Yesterday the world lost a fearless and supremely impactful leader. Today I am reflecting on all that Nelson Mandela has taught us (and me, in particular) about dedication, heroism, acceptance, peace.

I vividly remember the day Mandela was released from prison. It was a Sunday morning in February and his release was broadcast live across the world. My family was preparing to leave for church as we watched Mandela become a free man after 27 years in prison. He held Winnie’s hand and they both raised their arms in triumph in front of the massive crowd that gathered to support him. I recall a rush of emotion coming over me. I was only 10 at the time, but I knew — this was a big moment. In fact, my dad put his arms around me as we watch the TV and told me that he wanted me to remember that moment for the rest of my life.

May Nelson Mandela rest in peace. May his legacy live on. He defines a word that we use far too casually. He was a true HERO.

xoxo……………

 

T.P.D.

image via Nelson Mandela Foundation
Title is a quote from Nelson Mandela

Follow me on: Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Facebook Instagram

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 6, 2013 11:42 am

    What a beautiful memory and a fitting tribute to a great man!

Leave a Reply

