Skip to content

:: Werk ::

November 11, 2013

RED_5
RED_4

RED_1

If you’re anything like me, your mornings are super rushed and you’re lucky if you’ve put ANY thought into your outfit in advance. As fast as my mornings are, they’re ok with me — I think fashion should be somewhat spontaneous, and some of my best fashion moments are made when I quickly grab and go. Just when I thought I was somewhat alone in thinking this, (what style blogger doesn’t plan every outfit in advance??) I find out that my fashion IDOL Jenna Lyons, president of J. Crew, agrees:

I do my makeup in about five minutes. And I get dressed in about three minutes. I definitely don’t have a work uniform. The idea of a uniform is like a slow and painful death to me. 

“24 Hours with Jenna Lyons” Harper’s Bazaar, April 2013 issue

She has spoken. Now, on to the look above. One of my most creative? Absolutely not. However, it’s easy, it works for the office, and it’s super  comfortable and easy to replicate without approaching “uniform” territory. The key ingredients are:

  • A sleek pair of black dress pants. These are almost ten years old. Seriously. I think I got them when I was 23. I’m not ashamed to admit that because it gives me an opportunity to say I CAN FIT INTO CLOTHES I WORE IN MY EARLY TWENTIES. That’s one you shout from the rooftops.
  • A boyfriend sweater. Or, in this case, a husband sweater. Every few months Mike purges his wardrobe “extras” as I like to call them, creating a shopping day for me. This is a comfy cashmere sweater that ALMOST made it to Goodwill.
  • A leather jacket. I got this one a few years ago at the BCBG outlet in Williamsburg, Va. I took me a while to figure out how to rock it but it’s now one of my favorite transitional pieces…meaning that its light weight and three-quarter length sleeve make it work perfectly between seasons.
  • A statement necklace (or earrings). Clearly I opted for a necklace here…and it’s also pictured in this post, with a completely different look.

Photos by Lydia Hudgens

xoxo……………

T.P.D.

Follow me on: Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Facebook Instagram

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

