Skip to content

On the Mend

March 1, 2013

So I’m home recovering from abdominal surgery, and today marks the end of my third week away from work. I’ve never taken such a long break, so this “off” feeling is foreign to me. I’ll spare you the details, but let’s just say – the surgery was no joke, and the recovery has been tougher (and longer) than I expected. I’m trying to appreciate this forced break and not wallow in the boredom that sets in after I’ve had my fill of book and blog reading, DVD and reality show watching, and online shopping. Instead of wallowing, I’ve taken to perusing YouTube on my iPad for funny/weird/disturbingly creeping videos to email to my family and friends, knowing that they’ll most likely open and view them at work, and secretly hoping that a supervisor is nearby (hehe). As you can imagine, they truly appreciate this service that I’ve been providing. The most recent YouTube **gem** I’ve found is this very stirring video cleverly entitled, “Sittin on tha Toilet.” I mean, come on. If this thing doesn’t win some sort of short film award, Toilet Scarf on Head Lady has truly been robbed. My favorite reaction came from my father, The Honorable Clarence Barry-Austin. Upon viewing the video, he responded – “Carla, you need to go back to work.” This, my friends, is true. But unfortunately my body isn’t quite ready.

Ahhh, I’ve now digressed (for a full paragraph) from the main purpose of this post. Since I had surgery I’ve learned a bunch about how to deal with a hospital stay, and I’ve been touched by the thoughtfulness of my family and friends. I’ve also had a ton of time to reflect on the things that have helped aid in my recovery. Here are the items that bubbled to the top of my list – so consider these…should you ever need them.

recovery kit

Clockwise from top left:

  1. These Yes to Blueberries Facial Towelettes are AHmazing and smell so great. I usually use them at the gym to remove my makeup prior to working out, or just to refresh my face at home. However they came in SUPER handy at the hospital when I couldn’t get out of bed…to do anything, let alone wash my face.
  2. Flowers seem like such an obvious inclusion on this list. But I can’t tell you what a mood-booster they turned out to be for me. When I came home from the hospital, my husband had filled our apartment with beautiful blooms. Throughout the first week I continued to receive flowers from thoughtful friends and having them around made me feel so loved and supported. Surround yourself with pretty flowers – I swear it makes a crappy situation much better!
  3. Stock up on DVDs that have been on your watch list. I so enjoyed watching Anna Wintour in action in The September Issue. But it was the strong will, wit and passion of Vogue’s Creative Director, Grace Coddington, that kept me glued to the screen. Her memoir now tops my reading list.
  4. I barely had an appetite when I got out of the hospital. As I eased back into a regular diet, these yummy Naked juice smoothies came in handy!!
  5. Much to his dismay, I kept hubby on call in a very modern way with this trusty nuisance of an iPhone app ;o). You press it and it rings. Shake it and it rings and rings AND rings.
  6. What’s better than a good old fashioned book to get lost in? I’ll let you know if Gone Girl is worth all the hype on Instagram once I finish it. So far, so good. Are you following me? Please do! I’m @cbarryaustin.
  7. A juicy tabloid is great medicine for any gal, in my opinion. Stock up on all the weekly rags – they’re such an easy and mindless way to pass the time!
  8. You need your favorite goodies around to feel better, and you need to enjoy them without guilt. Period.

Whoa, this was a long post! I think maybe my longest in The Pretty Dish’s history. Did you enjoy? I won’t know if you don’t leave a comment below!

“Relax, take it easy
For there is nothing that we can do
Relax, take it easy
Blame it on me or blame it on you” –Mika

xoxo………….

T.P.D.

Follow me on: Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Facebook 

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2013 2:07 pm

    Gone Girl was FAB!!!!

Leave a Reply

