Skip to content

Best in Brows

January 6, 2013

One of my new year’s resolutions is to dust the cobwebs off the makeup skills I acquired as an NFL cheerleader. Time to put some of those techniques back to work!  Starting with…creating face-framing, bold brows like those rocked by Camilla Belle and Kerry Washington below.

Bold Brows

Photos sourced (l to r) here and here

What products should one use to achieve this look? I like M.A.C.’s 266 Small Angle Brush because, while I primarily use it to apply powder eyeliner (I wet the brush first for that), it also works well as a brow brush. When using it to fill in and shape brows, I pair it with M.A.C. Embark Eyeshadow. This shade was recommended to me by a M.A.C. makeup artist many moons ago, and I think it works well with my skin tone.

brow collage 2

Product photos via Nordstrom.com

So, now you want to know how to pick the right color for you. Consider this, from Dior’s Celebrity Makeup Artist Ricky Wilson (the following is an excerpt from a fab Glamour.com article by Danica Lo):

“I always say to choose a color that is a shade or so lighter than the hair of the brow,” says Ricky Wilson, the Dior Beauty Celebrity Makeup Artist. “To keep brows looking natural and groomed, I recommend going with a taupe that makes it easy to control the amount of brow you want.”

If you prefer to use a pencil to fill in brows (vs. the brush eyeshadow combo I mentioned earlier), here are two for you to consider. Both have a spooly brush on one end, which you’ll need to comb brows as you fill them in:

Anastasia Brow Wiz won InStyle Magazine’s 2012 Beauty Award for Best Eyebrow Pencil. Purchase here.

Lancome Brow Groomer won Allure Magazine’s 2012 Beauty Award for Best Brow Groomer. Purchase here.

If you’re seeking more detailed instructions on how to fill-in brows, check out this GREAT YouTube tutorial.

Like this post? I won’t know unless you leave a comment below! :)

xoxo………….

T.P.D.

Follow me on: Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Facebook

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl permalink
    January 6, 2013 3:51 pm

    Gorgeous Carla! I have virginal (never waxed) redhead eyebrows and I think more definition for going out would be nice. Love reading your blog, especially when I’ve been stuck at home sick all weekend! Xoxo

  2. Farah permalink
    January 6, 2013 4:13 pm

    Great post! You’re so right, brows play an important role in framing the face. And, beauty perception scientist know that, regardless of thick or thin, healthy, lustrous, appropriately shaped brows make you look younger and more attractive. ;)

  3. January 6, 2013 4:27 pm

    OBSESSED with that dark lipstick in the first photo..totally trying that next night out! LOVE!

  4. January 6, 2013 7:14 pm

    Reblogged this on Bag Lady Boutique.

  5. Kaity permalink
    January 7, 2013 9:45 am

    You’re look is flawless in that pic! Thanks for the great tips :)

Leave a Reply

