Skip to content

Little Bee

July 6, 2012

I hesitated to write about this, because I usually don’t post about books. However, The Pretty Dish is a lifestyle blog, right? And isn’t reading a part of life? Well, I think it should be. Especially when you find a book so readable that you whip through it faster than you want to, and the content truly moves you to a mix of emotions. That’s what Little Bee by Chris Cleave did for me. I’m no book critic, so I won’t try to describe the plot. I’ll leave that to the back cover:

If you’re headed to the beach and seeking a ‘beach read’ that’s not all fluff, consider this. Once you’ve read it, let me know what you think.

Now…what books are you reading this summer? I’m taking recommendations!

xoxo………….

 

T.P.D.

Follow me on: Pinterest | Bloglovin’  | Twitter | Facebook

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    July 7, 2012 12:45 am

    I just finished it! You were right, it’s a great read, but not at all what I expected!

  2. July 7, 2012 8:18 pm

    I’m intrigued now! I definitely don’t want it spoiled for me, but can you compare it to anything else so I can get a sense of what genre/style/feel of book it is before I go running out to find it? If not, that’s okay; I know how hints can be revealing or comparisons can be impossible… thanks for recommending!

    • July 8, 2012 10:29 pm

      Elizabeth, I’ll tell you this – the story is about a Nigerian teenage girl who has a life-changing beach encounter with a British couple. It’s about how their lives intertwine and reconnect a few years later. That’s my best synopsis and I don’t want to oversell it….I hope you like it! Please let me know what you think if you decide to read. Thanks so much for stopping by The Pretty Dish!! :)

      • July 8, 2012 10:31 pm

        I should add…..it’s kind of historical fiction. A lot of what happens in the book mirrors real-life occurences. I think this should answer your “genre” question!

  3. July 24, 2012 7:45 pm

    One of my all-time favorite quotes is from this book: “On the girl’s brown legs there were many small white scars. I was thinking, Do those scars cover the whole of you, like the stars and the moons on your dress? I thought that would be pretty too, and I ask you right here please to agree with me that a scar is never ugly. That is what the scar makers want us to think. But you and I, we must make an agreement to defy them. We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret. Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, I survived.” I live by it now. :-)

Leave a Reply

