Skip to content

Makeup Brush Maintenance

February 6, 2012

There are a few things I’ve learned over the years when it comes to makeup. One, if you’re going to invest in quality makeup products, you’ve got to use the right tools (i.e. brushes). And two, there’s no sense in having great brushes if you don’t properly care for them. Washing brushes regularly maximizes a brush’s life, keeps breakout-causing bacteria at bay and also helps with makeup application. So, here’s my quick and to-the-point Makeup Brush Maintenance tutorial. I recommend washing brushes weekly, although I have to admit to not doing it quite that often.

Here’s the “before” – dirty, dirty brushes. :0/

mac makeup cases

Wet brushes then use a mild cleanser to work up a lather. There are several products out there specifically designed to clean makeup brushes. If you choose to try one of these, I recommend MAC Brush Cleanser ($13). It doesn’t lather as much as I like, but it does clean well. A cheaper option, which is gentle on bristles, is baby wash like Johnson’s Natural Baby Shampoo ($4.79).

After you’ve shampooed the bristles, rinse clean. If the water doesn’t run clear, repeat. After the brush is clean, gently squeeze water out then twist bristles between your fingers so that the brush maintains its shape. See example below. Oh – and for inquiring minds, the polish color I’m sporting is Brooch the Subject from Essie.

Finally, lay brushes flat to dry.

Do you have a favorite makeup brush cleanser? Please share!

xoxo……..

T.P.D.

Don’t forget to follow The Pretty Dish on Bloglovin’ and Twitter!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 12:50 pm

    I’ve always used liquid hand soap or dish soap and neither have done the trick. I’m happy to try your suggestions!

  2. February 8, 2012 3:04 pm

    SERIOUSLY good post…I haven’t washed my brushes in months…eeewww….I can’t believe I even admitted that, lol.
    Heading home to doing that TONIGHT!!!
    C

Leave a Reply

