Skip to content

Drugstore Beauty

January 30, 2012

It’s time to fess up. Over the past year, I’ve become a serial blog reader. My favorite bloggers either write beautiful prose or inject their posts with a healthy dose of wit. Lovely images are a must, and bonus if I leave the blog having learned something. My blog faves inspire me to use The Pretty Dish not as just a creative outlet, but also as a tool to share tips that are actually meaningful to you – all two of you. :) To this end, I’ve pulled together a few of my favorite drugstore beauty buys. I often talk about higher ticket beauty items, which I also love, but there’s something very cool about the fact that (almost) each product in this post performs amazingly well, is widely available, AND is under $10.

Clockwise from top left:

  • Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies Waterproof Mascara: This mascara volumizes and lengthens lashes in a big way and stays put from morning ’til night. I never go without waterproof mascara – anything else slops off my (oily!!!) face. Yes, even my eyelids get oily, and it’s pretty darn gross.
  • Lumene Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover: This is a product that I SWEAR by. It is, hands down, the best eye makeup remover I’ve ever used. Now, keep in mind that my past includes years spent as a professional NFL cheerleader. HELLO mega makeup. After games a few swipes of this remover left no trace of makeup.
  • N.Y.C. New York Long Wear Nail Enamel in Starry Silver  Glitter: You’ve probably seen this at your neighborhood CVS or Walgreens, but maybe you were a little concerned about quality given the price tag. At just 99 cents, who cares?! This nail polish is the perfect price to try a little trend on for size (read: sparkles) without much commitment.
  • St. Ives Skin Renewing Body Lotion: The scent reminds me of sweet watermelon and provides enough moisture, even in the winter.
  • Nivea “A Kiss of Moisture” Essential Lip Care: LOVE this. Move over ChapStick, this product does NOT dry lips and is literally the first thing I apply after stepping out of the shower. It has amazing staying power and keeps my lips moisturized all day – even on very cold days and when worn under lipstick.
  • Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Bronzer, Blush & Eye Shadow: I love Bobbi Brown just as much as the next girl. But there’s really no need to spend $40, when you can get the PF version for less than $15. It’s truly an all-in-one product and a great travel buddy since you can use it as bronzer, blush AND eye shadow.

Please tell me about your drugstore beauty finds!

xoxo….

T.P.D.

Don’t forget to follow The Pretty Dish on Bloglovin’ and Twitter!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leti permalink
    January 31, 2012 10:56 am

    Carla you just inspired me to share some of my drugstore findings: hI would recommend Revlon lip gloss – with 9$ you get amazing gloss which lasts and you can buy a couple and layer them.
    Aveeno facial foam is also a very good product for less than 10$. Recently I have also tried the neutrogena eye liner and i am very impressed (I have sensitive eyes). In addition to that neutrogena face wipes (purple pack) are my must when I travel as they are the only ones that don’t irritated eyes/skin.

    • January 31, 2012 1:19 pm

      Great recommendations, thank you! I haven’t tried Neutrogena eye liner but DEFinitely will, as I have sensitive eyes too!! xo

Trackbacks

  1. Oh my! | myprettyplace

Leave a Reply

