Skip to content

Wearing Red

January 18, 2012

A recent trip to Duane Reade reminded me of all that the drugstore beauty aisle has to offer. I have to admit – I’m typically a department store beauty junkie, and I rarely buy makeup away from the brand name cosmetic counter (hello MAC). The lipsticks below were an unexpected purchase. They were both under $10, making my little red lipstick experiment completely guilt-free.

red lipstick
L to R:

  • Revlon Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick in Really Red
  • CoverGirl Lip Perfection in Hot

I tried CoverGirl one, and the orange undertone didn’t quite work with my skin tone. The Revlon “Really Red” option worked better. Here I am trying it sans lip liner. A bit too bright for my tastes. Oh, and a note regarding the graininess of these photos. WHOOPS. What more can I say? :0)

I toned down this “Really Red” with MAC’s Chestnut Lip Pencil. Worked like a dream. And I should add – the lipstick is quite comfortable to wear and goes on incredibly smooth. Very pleased to say that it lasted through dinner.

Do you have a favorite **red** lipstick? Please share!!

xoxo…..

T.P.D.

Don’t forget to follow The Pretty Dish on Bloglovin’ and Twitter!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 5:26 pm

    Beautiful! Love the 2nd color on you and I LOVE your bangs and this blog.

  2. Megan permalink
    January 26, 2012 8:58 am

    I love that Red! You look so pretty. I really like the Revlon Colorburst lipsticks. They come in a pretty black quilted case that remind me of Chanel. And the Revlon lip butters that just came out are great! Big fan of drug store – great post!

Trackbacks

  1. The Perfect Red Lipstick (For Less Than $6.00!) | melissajenna.com

Leave a Reply

