Skip to content

Pre-Thanksgiving Sangria

November 27, 2011

Since I went away to college, the night before Thanksgiving has been special at home in NJ. It’s a social evening of catching up with friends and taking advantage of the chance to see those that rarely come to town. This year, instead of heading to the bars, I invited some girlfriends over for some pre-Thanksgiving sangria and a little impromptu wedding planning.

Beforehand, I searched high and low for the perfect white sangria recipe, but everything I found either had too many ingredients or too many steps. I ended up making up my own recipe! Here’s my take on sangria using white wine as the base. Keep in mind that I am no chef! Just a wannabe homemaker trying a million things in the kitchen until something works. ;)

You’ll need:

  • Fresh fruit, cut into small pieces – I used oranges, apples and pears
  • Grand Marnier – I used one of the 50ml mini bottles, but you can add as much of the orange liquor as you’d like, to taste
  • Stonewall Kitchen Wild Blueberry MixerThis provides sweetness, so no need to add sugar to the sangria
  •  A bottle (or two) of your favorite white wine – I used Cupcake Vineyards Sauvignon Blanc, although I would have used a Riesling if I had one on hand.
  • Sparkling water (optional) – In case you prefer sparkling sangria
  • A large glass pitcher – Make sure it’s transparent, the fruit looks so pretty floating inside!

Add the fruit to the pitcher, then pour in 1 cup of the Wild Blueberry Mixer. Next, add the wine. You may need two bottles. To fill my pitcher, I needed a bottle and a half. Finally, add in Grand Marnier to taste and stir. You’re done! Now, when you serve, you’ll want to pour the sangria first, then use a spoon to move the fruit from the pitcher to each glass. As your guests prefer, you can top off glasses individually with a little sparkling water. Can you believe this? You are totally a hostess with the mostess right now, and you didn’t even see it coming.

Here’s my friend Megan enjoying a glass…I included this pic because I love her chevron-patterned bracelet…

check out this similar one that I found online. Gotta love Etsy.

Please try this recipe and tell me if you like it!

xoxo……..

T.P.D.

Don’t forget to follow The Pretty Dish on Bloglovin’ and Twitter!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 12:39 pm

    ooh, LOVE sangria and never really think of it during the fall months..mostly a summertime cocktail for me (but not sure WHY?)
    Definitely will try..actually I have a shopping event I am hosting at my house and this would be PERFECT as the signature cocktail of the night. Thanks for the suggestion.
    C

Leave a Reply

