Skip to content

A Blue Duck Brunch

November 21, 2011

By now you know that I spend a decent amount of time in D.C. – it IS my second home, after all. When Fiancé Mike and I were there this past weekend we had a lovely brunch at Blue Duck Tavern. Fast Facts – President Obama and the First Lady celebrated their 17th wedding anniversary at Blue Duck in ’09…and the place has special meaning to me because a) it’s housed within the Park Hyatt, my favorite D.C. hotel; and b) while I worked in PR for Destination DC, I had one of my most memorable meals to-date while dining at the Chef’s Table.

There’s an open kitchen, which means you can see what’s going on behind the scenes. This inside scoop is a special bonus for foodies. Also, the space is designed in a rustic way that makes you feel right at home. At a very “chic” home, that is. Before I share detail on the meal, I want to give you an idea of the openness of the space (loving the high ceilings and windows). I went outside and snapped a shot of Fiancé Mike waiting to be seated…

Blue Duck Tavern
…and here’s a peek at the open kitchen…

blue duck tavern

…and the lovely menu…


We started with a delicious Jumbo Lump Crabcake from the Chesapeake Bay…

…before he moved on to Eggs Benedict, and I opted for the Brioche Doughnut French Toast w/ Oat, Brown Sugar & Nut Crumble. Ahhhhmazing.

It was served with this maple syrup, though I decided to do without it…


All the while we watched what was happening in the kitchen…

blue duck tavern at the park hyatt dc

Please, please tell me that you’ll make a special trip to D.C. to try this wonderful restaurant? It’s so worth it, I promise. Now – what’s YOUR favorite brunch spot? What city is it in? Leave a comment and let me know!

xoxo………

T.P.D.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 5:16 pm

    Wow!!! That looks amazing!!! I want that french toast! Also, I have never seen syrup presented like that. Why wasn’t that place there when I lived in D.C.??? I will definitely make a stop there the next time I am in the area. Love your blog, Carla.

  2. Letizia permalink
    November 21, 2011 7:34 pm

    Yum! I want those doughnuts too!!!! I was there on Friday for lunch @ Chef’s table…how random :) Now I’m definetely going to try the brunch

  3. Becky permalink
    November 22, 2011 4:34 pm

    Long time reader, first time commenter! Had to weigh in this time, as brunch is by far the highlight of my weekends…I’m a big fan of Applewood in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Fresh, local and absolutely delicious! applewoodny.com.

Leave a Reply

