Skip to content

First Lady Love (and D.C. Nostalgia)

September 26, 2011

I can’t believe it’s been more than a year since I left the nation’s capital. I recently realized that being away from D.C. has distanced me from many things – talking politics at happy hour, my fondness of Michelle Obama and wearing navy blue suits with nude pantyhose (umm kidding, I wouldn’t be caught dead).

Well, my love for the First Lady was totally revived when cameras caught her here doing the Dougie at Alice Deal Middle School in D.C. a few months ago. OMG – LOVE. HER. Since then I’ve started following M’Obama again to see what she’ll do (and wear) next.  She was seen over the weekend at a Congressional Black Caucus event looking UBER chic in a Michael Kors black sequin fishtail skirt.

Michelle Obama black sequin skirt

Image via usatoday.com/ Getty Images

There are a few things I’m loving about this look:

  1. The pairing with a casual, unassuming black top keeps the look from being too formal.
  2. She breaks up the black with a statement necklace.
  3. The stacked bracelets give the ensemble a contemporary feel.
  4. The corset belt (by Peter Soronen) cinches in M’Obama’s waist, giving her a lovely hourglass figure.

I think I just might have to try the black sequin look myself. I’ll start with one of these items:

Liu Jo cardigan, Yoox.com, $118

Liu Jo sweater

Image c/o Yoox.com

BCBG Harlow Sequined Envelope Bag, Lordandtaylor.com, $88

BCBG black sequin envelope bag

Image c/o Lordandtaylor.com

Aidan Mattox Black Sequin Dress, Bluefly.com, $120

black sequin dress

Image c/o Bluefly.com


Dear D.C., NYC is great, but I miss you.

xoxo……………..

T.P.D.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. chameleonic permalink
    September 26, 2011 10:22 pm

    great sequin post! love it!

  2. marina permalink
    September 27, 2011 10:00 am

    I loved this look on FLOTUS too! I want to copy it. DC misses you, too! Congrats on the engagement btw!

Leave a Reply

