Skip to content

My Interest in Pinterest

April 26, 2011

I have a new obsession, and it’s called Pinterest.com. No, seriously, you don’t understand. I’m spending hours upon hours scouring the Internet to find images to add to my virtual pin boards. Before I go any further…I know…you’re asking, “What on earth is Pinterest, and what the heck is a virtual pin board?”
 
Pinterest is a place to visually catalog things you love across any category you want. Take the screen shot below of my “Visual Inspiration” pin board for example. I’ve included pictures that I’ve either repinned from other Pinterest’ers, or that I’ve stumbled upon myself while surfing the web. The board serves as inspiration when I’m brainstorming new blog post ideas, or generally just want to look at pretty pictures.

You can create pin boards on any theme you like – maybe you’re planning a kitchen redesign and you want to save all of the images of kitchens you like from around the web. Enter Pinterest! Or, perhaps you want to catalog all of your spring fashion picks in one place. Pinterest to the rescue. Here’s a link to my “Fashion Love” pin board, to give you an idea of some of The Pretty Dish’s fab spring picks.
 
You just add Pinterest’s little “Pin It” icon to your tool bar (see image below), and any time you see something you like online, adding the image to your pin board is as simple as clicking on the toolbar icon:


The social element of the site is fun, too. You can follow and be followed by fellow Pinterest users.
 
The site is still in beta mode, so membership is restricted. But leave a comment below including your email address and telling me how you’d use Pinterest. The first 15 comments will receive an exclusive invite code to join…and get pinning! 

T.P.D.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 3:01 am

    I keep stumbling across Pinterest and gathering inspiration. I’d use it to collect ideas for the type of crafts I want to do in the future, a sort of ‘virtual to do list’!

  2. Anike permalink
    April 27, 2011 6:30 am

    Hey Carla,

    I stumbled upon this blog post on Pininterest! I’ve been looking for something to help build mood-boards for clients. I’m an Event Manager here in Lagos (Nigeria), and often times, I need LOTS of visuals to convince a client to go a certain way with design.

    I’d love to try this out!

  3. Megan permalink
    April 27, 2011 8:28 am

    Love your inspiration board! This seems kind of interesting – if I can make one as pretty as yours!

  4. Leti permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:51 am

    Thank you so much for sharing – very interesting concept. For me it is going to save time while finding things I like and want to share with friends easily (without keeping magazines because I saw something I liked in them ;)

  5. ADubs permalink
    April 27, 2011 10:09 am

    This looks very cool (I’ve seen several friends post images from this site on FB so I know lots are already using it).

    I would use Pinterest to keep track of Holiday gift-giving ideas. I always come across random items that I think would be GREAT for loved ones in the spring and summer months, and by the time Christmas rolls around, I can no longer remember those ideas. Pinterest to the rescue!!

  6. Jessica permalink
    April 27, 2011 11:24 am

    I love this! It looks like an online mood bored–and I love ADubs idea for keeping track of gift-giving ideas. Just think, we’re each our own Holiday Gift Guide editor :) Thanks for sharing this with us!

  7. April 27, 2011 12:41 pm

    Thanks for sharing this info….I now could collect and organize fab finds .

  8. Courtney MacGregor permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:53 pm

    Hey Carla! I must have this… in addition to personal use for my home, I’d love to collect ideas for the magazine I’m an editor on.

    Hope you’re doing well! Love the blog.

  9. Noelle permalink
    April 28, 2011 11:40 am

    Carla,
    You are such a Pretty girl with such a Pretty Dish! Love the blog and I love your PRETTY pics that you put together on Pinterest. That is a super helpful tool to put all your photo ideas together to make your own! I especially would love to use it for home decor/ design ideas! Bc I sometimes forget ideas I’ve seen online. This is great for keeping them all together.

    Keep up the good work. I love reading your posts!

  10. May 2, 2011 4:53 pm

    Hi! I was mainly planning on using Pinterest for inspiration boards of senior/fashion/wedding/baby photos that I like to get inspired. I like that you mentioned you are going to use it to track things you might blog about…that is a good idea that I am going to borrow ;)

    Thanks if you have any more invites left…glad I read my Google Reader today ;)

  11. Abby permalink
    May 4, 2011 4:36 pm

    I am currently in the midst of wedding planning! I keep coming across so many great ideas and how wonderful would it be to have a place to collectively look at all my inspirations at once? It would be much better than the bookmarks upon bookmarks I am accumulating!!!

  12. Elle C permalink
    May 9, 2011 7:11 pm

    I love Pinterest and I seem to find new uses for it daily. For instance I am a sewist, and I am currently making jeans, I am using it to catalog details on ready to wear jeans. I am also using it to catalog my sewing book library ( I have a LOT of books), so I don’t buy a book twice. I also use it to waste time when I don’t want to do anything at all.

  13. Melissa permalink
    May 23, 2011 3:13 am

    How cool is Pinterest?! My first board would of course be all about nails. Maybe another board of “mental therapy” images, stuff that just makes me smile. Is there a family “in” for the invite? ;-)

    BTW, looooove the blog. Makes me feel hip and in the know (which is awesome, cause I’m older than dirt)!

    Send my love to the fam.

    • May 23, 2011 10:32 am

      Of course there is! I’m so glad you like the blog – please keep visiting and commenting! And you are NOT old as dirt, missy! :0)

Leave a Reply

